Living in dread of the dredge...

Shoot the breeze here.
Toolslinger United States of America

Living in dread of the dredge...

Post by Toolslinger »

I've been chasing a pond company for a couple years now to get my two mill ponds dealt with. The upper eroded, and basically emptied to a swamp, and the lower is on the verge of the same.

I've gone back and forth with the owner a couple times, but apparently he's notorious for not getting back to people. On the other hand he does amazing work, so likely worth the headache.

One of his guys came by yesterday to "float" the ponds. Basically they survey the pond depth, and condition, and how much material they would have to clean out. The upper pond is about 1/3 the size of the lower. I will not be able to rebuild to the original height, but I will be able to get 3' above where it is now, which would give me a pond again.

His guy stopped by to talk to be between surveys. Asked me if I had any idea how deep my upper was. I know it was something like 14 feet deep just before the falls when I was a kid, and the water is a good 6 feet down from the max line back then. He proceeded to inform me I have around 8' of silt, and it is around 1200 cu/yd of material...

Holy crap, that's a lot of material to deal with, and that's just the upper... That's going to be a mountain of material to dry out, and have to spread around... If I get it all dug out, I'll have 10' of depth again... That would be excellent. Plenty deep to keep the fish happy, and cool when I restock brook trout. They in turn will help take care of the potential mosquitos.
JSinMO United States of America

Re: Living in dread of the dredge...

Post by JSinMO »

Sounds like a big project, but a nice fishing hole in the end.
I wonder if that silt would have enough organic matter to be good on a garden?
We have a small pond on the back of the property. It’s somewhere on the list of things I’d like to work on around here. Maybe someday……
RoamingGnome Canada