How many years you got with Case tractors?!

Shoot the breeze here.
Eugen Canada

How many years you got with Case tractors?!

Post by Eugen »

I'm curious guys, how many years you've involved with Case garden tractors. I got my first 220 in late Fall 2019. I'm quite new to the madness ... ahm, I mean hobby. :D
Case 224, 444, 644, 680E
Kubota B26 :blush:
mendonsy United States of America

Re: How many years you got with Case tractors?!

Post by mendonsy »

I bought my 1978 446 new in the spring of '78 so it has been mowing my acre of grass for 43 years. :thumbsup:
myerslawnandgarden United States of America

Post by myerslawnandgarden »

I'm thinking that it was 1973. Dad was a rural mail carrier and always had a part time job at various places to fill in after he finished his route. He was working for a guy that had a bulk fuel oil business, installed furnaces and had a small excavating business. The owner, Vernon saw an ad in the Prairie Farmer magazine that J I Case posted looking for garden tractor dealers. He says to my dad, "Ken, you need a new mower and I need one, what do you say, I'll take an order and we'll both get a new tractor at cost and should be able to get rid of the rest". ( I think you had to order 5 to become a dealer ). Dad agreed that it was a good idea and when they arrived, since I was mechanically inclined and a 16 year old high school kid I was given the task of assembling them at the rate of around $3 per hour. So the extra 3 tractors were parked out along a county road going past Vernon's house and they sold (at cost) in no time. So he orders another load and that's how it started. Within a few years Vernon became the top North American dealer for J I Case Outdoor Power Equipment.

Sometimes I'm asked about how i know certain things about the older models and I guess it is because I was around when they were new. Hard to believe that 50 years has gone by.

There's a whole lot more to the story, but that's how it began.

Bob