Plowing

It's ground engaging time. Seeds, manure, soil, and everything that goes with them. But that's not all. Cutting and hauling wood, chainsaws and the works!
JSinMO United States of America

Plowing

Post by JSinMO »

Since we had a recent discussion on plowing I thought I’d share how I set my plow up. First the disclaimers. I’m not a plowing expert. There are plenty of good videos out there showing plow set up. This is how I learned to do it and it works for me, your mileage may vary. I use a Farmall M to plow, but your plow will be matched to your tractor so I don’t think tractor size or type really matters. Now on with it!

After I mount the plow I pull the outside side wheel, that is to say the wheel that WILL NOT be in the furrow, up on a block to represent the depth I want to plow. If I want to go 6” deep I pull up on a 6” block
39EA93BC-C36B-4231-A2A4-84DBE6D9304C.jpeg
Next I lower the plow to the ground and level it as best I can front to back, and side to side
1F0B4D14-0DBC-4E8E-82B7-DE0BB8E3FA58.jpeg
This is my base adjustment. Then I head to the field and start my first pass. If I’m not happy with it I make adjustments from there till I am.
Here are the results I get in dry ground. It’s certainly not competition worthy, but fine for my garden.
C37AD9A0-EC9B-462F-987C-197E987FFCEC.jpeg
After looking at the job @Harry did I think his work was better!

Once I’m done I scrap the plow off and coat with oil and then spray what ever cheap spray paint I have laying around on it so it doesn’t get rusty. A shiny plow is your friend! A rusty one will pull hard and you won’t be happy with the results. I also try to hold a moderate speed, it helps the dirt roll off the plow.

Now here a tip on what not to do. Don’t leave your good 15” adjustable wrench on the tractor while you plowing! Thank goodness I have a metal detector because the wrench fell off the tractor and I plowed it under!